Legalization of Medical Marijuana in Maine
The use of Medical Marijuana in Maine State, through Ballot Question 2 (Medical Marijuana Act of 1998), was approved on November 2, 1999 by 61% voters and took effect on December 22, 1999. This Act removes state-law criminal penalties regarding use, possession and cultivation of medical marijuana by qualified patients, with oral or written professional opinion from their physician.
On November 2, 1999, Maine legalized medical marijuana when 62% of the populace voted yes on Question 2.
On May 1, 2009, Maine further decriminalized cannabis when Governor John Baldacci signed legislation (LD 250) which made possession of 2.5 ounces or less a civil infraction.
On November 5, 2013, voters in Portland, Maine passed Question 1 by 67% which legalized the possession of 2.5 ounces within the city's limits.
Quantity of Marijuana
Section 2426 of the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Act, states that, a qualifying Medical Marijuana patient is allowed to possess up to 2.5 ounces of prepared marijuana, and incidental amount of marijuana as provided in subsection 5. Qualifying patients and caregivers may cultivate not more than 6 marijuana plants, of which no more than three may be mature.
Treatment for Illnesses in Maine
Approved medical conditions lists;cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS or Lou Gehrig's Disease), Alzheimer's disease, nail-patella syndrome (NPS or Turner-Kiser syndrome), pain that has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures for more than 6 months, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe nausea, seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy’ severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), inflammatory bowel disease, dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders and other diseases causing severe and persistent muscle, spasms (including Chron's) and any other medical condition approved by the Department of Health and Human Services.
Licensing & Supply
Patients that are registered with the Maine Medical Marijuana Program must possess a medical marijuana registry ID card issued by the Maine department of Health Service and are required to have the card with them whenever they are in possession of medical marijuana. The Maine licensed medical marijuana dispensaries must be non-profit and follow a set of strict regulations. No dispensary is allowed to give qualified patients more than 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana in a 15-day period.