Cannabis in Louisiana concerns the drug cannabis in Louisiana, United States, where it is legal for medical usage since 2015, but illegal for recreational usage. First time possession is a criminal offense, but was reduced to a $300 fine and 15 days in jail in 2015.
Sources give varying dates for the prohibition of cannabis in Louisiana, generally either 1924 or 1927. Despite this law, and newspaper accounts of contemporaneous cannabis use in New Orleans, in 1930 there were only 30 marijuana convictions in the entire state.
On June 30, 2015, Governor Bobby Jindal signed SB 143, which significantly reduced penalties for possession of cannabis. Under the bill, first time possession is punishable by a $300 fine and 15 days in jail, a second offense by up to a $1,000 fine and six months in jail, a third offense by up a $2,500 fine and up to two years in jail, and fourth or subsequent offenses by up to a $5,000 fine and eight years in prison.
On June 30, 2015, Governor Bobby Jindal also signed HB 149, which sets up a framework for dispensing marijuana for medical purposes. It is expected to take at least until 2017 until the structures are in place to dispense medical cannabis to any patients.